From VLSILab
Jump to navigationJump to search

Vertically Integrated Projects (VIP) at Drexel University

IoT Processor Team by Prof. Taskin

The goal of this VIP team is to investigate software and hardware design methods to design low-power, high performance computing elements such as processors, application-specific integrated circuits and systems-on-chip. The processors are intended for a wide range of applications from cloud servers to mobile handsets but the particular intend is to build processors for the emerging applications of Internet of Things (IoT) and edge computing, and primarily perform exa-scale computing workloads at such small footprints of area and energy.

Apply through Drexel Discover website of Drexel Office of Undergraduate Research.


An NSF-funded Research Experience for Undergraduates (REU) Site (2010-2012) on "Computing for Power and Energy" directed by Dr. Taskin: REU Site on Computing for Power and Energy: The Old, The New and The Renewable.

MS in VLSI in the US at Drexel University Promotional Material (May 2017)


ECE-C471 Custom VLSI Design

ECE-C474 ASIC Design I

ECE-C475 ASIC Design II

ECE-C671 EDA for VLSI Design I

ECE-C672 EDA for VLSI Design II

ECE-C673 Deep Sub-Micron (DSM) IC Design

ECE-C690 Special Topics: Network on Chip

Occasionally teach these courses as well:

ENGR 121 Computation Lab I

ENGR 122 Computation Lab II

ENGR 231 Linear Engineering Systems

ENGR 232 Dynamic Engineering Systems

ECE-C304 Design with Microcontrollers

ECE-C356 Embedded Systems

ECE 200 Digital Logic Systems

Senior Design

Academic Year 2016-2017

  • "ArchEval, an Application for Architectural Evaluation"

Avik Bag, Eric Rock, George Slavin

  • "Wireless System for Measuring Neural Physiological Data in Brain Tissue"

Darshan Donthi, Anthony Romano, Scott Szybist

Academic Year 2015-2016

  • "Wireless DRAM Solution"

David Hong, Isikcan Yilmaz, Stephen Yohannan

Academic Year 2013-2014

  • "Hybrid Wireless Network-on-Chip System"

Gjergji Konica, Katie Leis, Scott Lerner, Vasil Pano

ASEE Mid-Atlantic Section Conference 2014 Poster presentation

Academic Year 2012-2013

  • Assisted Living Monitoring System

Members: Jeffrey Eckert, Neev Wanvari

Academic Year 2010-2011

  • Ultra Low Power Full-Adder IC Design

Members: Kevin Daly, Tiffany Lakins, Ramen Tieu

Academic Year 2009-2010

  • Scalability of Rotary Traveling-Wave Oscillators

Members: Eric Fargnoli, Colby Weingarten

Drexel ECE Senior Design Award - Computer Engineering

Academic Year 2008-2009

  • Design of and Addressable Internetworked Nanowire Sensor Platform (co-advised with Dr. Nabet)

Members: Daniel Oakum, Gerre Strait, Kyle Yencha, Matthew Zofchak

Fabricated a 1.5x1.5 mm chip in AMI 0.5um technology


  1. K. Yencha, M. Zofchak, D. Oakum, G. Strait, B. Taskin, B. Nabet, "Design of an Addressable Internetworked Microscale Sensor", Special Issue: Journal of Selected Areas in Microelectronics (JSAM), December 2010.

Academic Year 2006-2007

  • Automated Clock Signal Router for the 36GHz Processor

Members: Joseph DeMaio, Owen Farrell, Michael Hazeltine, Ryan Ketner

Drexel ECE Senior Design Award - Computer Engineering


  1. Baris Taskin, J. DeMaio, O. Farell, M. Hazeltine, R. Ketner, Custom Topology Rotary Clock Router, ACM Transactions on Design Automation of Electronic Systems (TODAES), Vol. 14, No. 3, Article 44, May 2009.
  2. University Booth Presentation at the ACM/IEEE Design Automation Conference 2007 in San Diego, CA.

  • Serial Memory Design Using QCA Nanoarchitectures

Members: Andy Chiu, Jonathan Salkind, Daniel Venutolo


  1. Baris Taskin, A. Chiu, J. Salkind, D. Venutolo, A Shift-Register Based QCA Memory Architecture, ACM Journal on Emerging Technologies and Computation (JETC), Vol. 5, No. 1, Article 4, January 2009.
  2. Baris Taskin, Andy Chiu, Jonathan Salkind, Dan Ventutolo, A Shift-Register Based QCA Memory Architecture, Proceedings of the IEEE/ACM International Symposium on Nanoscale Architectures (NANOARCH), October 2007, pp. 54--61.

  • Realizing Arbitrary Boolean Functions with Analog Threshold Logic Circuits (co-advised with Dr. Katz)

Members: James Cantwell, Matthew Kordbegli, Jason Myers, Scott Myers

  • Scalable Implementation of Graph Clustering Algorithm (co-advised with Dr. Hong)

Members: Mary Vuong, Ana Luiza Silva, Nemanja Milosavljevic, Jonathan Gevaryahu

Academic Year 2005-2006

  • Automated Implementation of Logical Effort

Members: David Dimm, Roshani Patel