Michael’s ACS Nano paper wins the ACerS 2013 Ross Coffin Purdy Award

Michael_Naguib_2 copyCongratulation to Ph.D. candidate Michael Naguib! His ACS Nano paper titled “Two-dimensional transition metal carbides” was awarded the ACerS 2013 Ross Coffin Purdy Award. The Purdy award is given to the author or authors who, in the judgment of the committee, made the most valuable contribution to ceramic technical literature during the calendar year prior to the selection. This work has established a new family of two-dimensional transition metal carbides, so-called MXenes, they are electronically conductors and they showed a promising performance as a new electrode material for lithium ion batteries and supercapacitors. This paper was co-authored with Ph.D. candidate Olha Mashtalir (advisor: Yury Gogotsi), B.S. student Joshua Carle, former research professor Volker Presser, and Dr. Jun Lu and Professor Lars Hultman from Linköping University, Prof. Yury Gogotsi and Prof. Michel W. Barsoum.

Recognition of this achievement will be given Monday, October 28, 2013 at the ACerS Honors and Awards Banquet during the Materials Science and Technology Conference (MS&T13) taking place October 27 – 31 in Montréal, Quebec, Canada.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.